Fishermen’s Bend

Fisherman's Bend

Not too long ago I got to go camping again at Fishermen’s Bend Recreation Site, a wonderful spot just east of Salem!

Deciding I didn’t want to spend my entire trip on I-5, I turned off in Wilsonville and drove through Mt. Angel to Silverton and then through Sublimity. The drive was gorgeous, with golden wheat, bright azure blue sky and a feeling of freedom.

Fisher men's Bend 0073

My short camping trip (one full day, one night and the next morning) encompassed time along the cold North Santiam River, dining rustically outdoors, photography, s’mores and tenting through a thunderstorm*.

Fishermen's Bend 0074

 

Thankfully I met up with friends and had only to roll out my sleeping bag in the corner of an already popped tent. Then it was time for camping fun. My full day was warm and humid, with a high temperature somewhere in the high ninety’s. Sitting along the riverbank, on the smooth river rocks and then rafting down the Santiam was delightful. The clear, cool river felt so good to this sun baked suburban girl.

Fisher Men's Bend 0075

Being in the Firs Group Loop, we had privacy and a feeling of seclusion. The site we camped is one of 50 sites at Fishermen’s Bend. The roads and trails connecting the recreation area are well maintained and easy to navigate. The easy paths have views and benches. It is always a pleasure to spend time meandering around exploring the area.

DSC_0094

Santiam River 0102

After playing in and along the river, I took a nice hot shower before dinner. With access to electricity and a gas stove, my friends and I enjoyed a nice hot dinner before gathering around the fire pit for fellowship and s’mores. After that, it was time for me to hit the sack! I must have been tired as the thunder and lightning* didn’t keep me from sleeping!

DSC_0116View on Santiam River 0104

Leaving the lovely forested Fishermen’s Bend camp for a drive back to suburban life was a bit sad, but I look forward to camping there again.

DSC_0141

Morning View of the North Santiam River

{*Side note: If you are awake and realize there is a storm, please take precautions to stay safe. Here is a helpful link from a Scoutmaster and Meteorologist on what to do.}

Leave a Reply

